Kerala Assembly Elections:VS or Pinarayi? CPM state panel to pick Kerala CM Friday


VS or Pinarayi

The new chief minister of Kerala will be decided on Friday, CPI­M leader Prakash Karat said on Thursday after the Left swept the Assembly election in the state.

The Left Democratic Front (LDF) led by the Communist Party of India­Marxist is set to win 91 of the 140 seats in the Kerala assembly.

Karat said the CPI­M would name its chief minister on Friday. “The state secretariat and state committee will meet in Thiruvananthapuram tomorrow to elect a leader.”

While a majority in the CPI­M in Kerala is known to support Pinarayi Vijayan, it remains to be seen if the national leadership wants to give a second term to 92­year­old V.S. Achuthanandan.

“It has been a wave and the people of Kerala have given a fitting reply to the corrupt (Oommen) Chandy government,” Karat, a politburo member who hails from Kerala. Achuthanandan, meanwhile, said in Palakkad: “We will ensure that the state is put on the right track of governance. Our prime concern will be women’s safety.”


Post your Comments