Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalitha’s claim wrong; four dams belong to Kerala: Oommen Chandy

Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalitha

The ownership claims made by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa over the Mullaperiyar, Thunakadavu, Parambikulam, and Peruvaripallam dams are wrong, said Chief Minister Oommen Chandy.

Attending a news conference, the CM pointed out that the entry in the National Register of Large Dams (NRLD) ensures that the four dams belong to Kerala.

‘The dams are located in sites belonging to Kerala. The construction and maintenance of these dams are carried out according to the terms specified in the agreement between two states. The Tamil Nadu CM claims that the dams belong to them as they are carrying out the maintenance. The operation and maintenance of the dams are being carried out by Tamil Nadu based on the terms in the pact only. As per the pact, such rights are bestowed on Tamil Nadu,’ he clarified.

Also, conditions are laid regarding the sharing of water, he added.

‘Kerala wants to maintain a healthy relationship with Tamil Nadu. In no way, it wants to stir up controversies,’ he added.

Responding to DMK chief M Karunanidhi’s allegation that Tamil Nadu lost four dams to Kerala, Jayalalithaa had on Saturday had stated that Tamil Nadu still owns the dams.

Post your Comments

Leave a Reply